The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Information technology plays a crucial role as a part of the module in most secondary schools. Children who are in primary school also have been taught this skill. Although it is said that there are a few drawbacks to teaching technical skills at a young age, I partially disagree with this opinion and I will explain other reasons in this essay.

On one hand, instructions on technical knowledge for youngsters at schools might be a burden for them as they will not be able to cope with every skill at once. Moreover, basic skills like social and moral skills are more compulsory to young students and these skills have to make a way for technology if it involves in children’s curriculum. Most importantly, without proper guidance, technology will be a toxic substance to an underaged person and it is ruining childhood. For instance, young students have been targeted and harmed by digitized technologies such as cyberbullying.

On the other hand, it is argued that children today are the leaders for tomorrow and they should establish a foundation of technical knowledge at their schools due to their brain development starts at the age of five. In addition, as technological advancement provides an endless supply of learning resources, it will encourage spontaneous learning and will excite young students. Besides, technology is a cost-effective alternative to traditional materials and opens up new possibilities for children’s collaboration. For example, children can be attracted by computer games with moving pictures to learn new words.

In conclusion, although we are aware of the potential dangers of technological involvement in children’s lives, we cannot eliminate it from education, and teachers and parents should corporate together to utilize technology for children effectively.