The values that we learn from our parents and family have a greater influence on our future success than the knowledge and skills we learn at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that values we acquire from our parents and family are the biggest contributor to our success in comparison to knowledge and life skills we gained at school. While both of these places play an equal crucial role in equipping children with interpersonal skills and virtues, I firmly disagree with this view, as prioritizing one over another does not seem particularly effective.

It is a family that often regarded as a huge contributor to achievements. The advocates of this view believe that as children spend most of their time starting from their formative years being surrounded by family members, it is highly likely to adopt essential virtues or skills, such as kindness, honesty and loyalty – highlighting kids’ greater exposure to family life. Furthermore, as children tend to imitate adult’s behaviors, seeing their parent’s or grandparent’s attitudes daily would make it natural for them to develop some of that valuable interpersonal values. As a result, these virtues learnt by exposing family environment would not only promise success, but also form their personality.

Beyond above-mentioned advantages of family brings, the importance of the schools should not be neglected. School is an institution where children gain core skills and values which are likely to contribute to their attainments later. On the other hand, I still believe that influence of family is greater, though success will not come easily with the aid of family only.Even though many successful entrepreneurs credit virtues they learnt by their parents as a core element of their attainments, they would never even step in a successful life without the knowledge and life skills they gained from school.

In conclusion, while I contend that the role of family in attaining success is greater, as children practically observe and adopt valuable virtues, striking a healthy balance without devaluing one over another seems more favorable.