These days very fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this and how this problem can be tackled?

Teaching is the greatest act of optimism. Unfortunately, nowadays, a growing number of people are reluctant to join teaching as a profession, especially in higher schools. This essay will highlight the principal causes and the solutions to resolve them.

At present, many secondary schools face great difficulties in finding people who want to be teachers due to numerous reasons, such as low income and teachers’ dissatisfaction with their work. First and foremost, employers have more job openings offering higher salaries than instructors’ earnings than ever before. Earnings in teaching, especially in public schools, are much lower than in many other jobs in the private sector. For example, an adult who works as a dentist in a private hospital can earn at least twice as much as a secondary school teacher. Furthermore, another problem is that current educators do not seem satisfied with their occupation because of having more working hours and as a result, they are now unlikely to inspire young people to enter a profession that is as challenging as teaching has become.

However, by taking several measures, these issues can be solved. One practical solution to this problem is that the government should raise teachers’ pay significantly. Raising the minimum salary for teachers will noticeably motivate people to take up teaching as a job. Another initiative is to reduce the burden of work on teachers and schools should employ assistants to help the tutors, making teaching a much easier and less stressful job. By implementing these resolutions, people are more likely to work as teachers and the poor image of secondary teaching improve. In other words, a person who is passionate about teaching will be motivated to work harder and contribute to the community.

To conclude, although fewer and fewer people want to become educators because of inadequate income and burdensome workload, such challenges can be solved with proper planning. In this regard, the government plays an important role in encouraging the public to become educators.