Today food travels to from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be more better for the economy and environment if people ate food produced from local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a suggestion on behalf of the environment and economy to take in food from local agriculture against the current background in which a practice of produced food be transported for a multitude of miles to reach the customer prevails. Pitifully, its potential advantages may not be able to outweigh the disadvantages.

In a limited view, such suggestion may be fascinating. Buying from local farmers diminishes the transport distance, which leads to two additional benefits: more money saved from lessening transport costs and less environmental damage from less CO2 emission. Furthermore, fresh products like fish and meat may become safer and more attractive due to complete maintenance of freshness, appearance and nutrition as there is much less time for degradation taking place during shipping.

However, on a large scale, some shortcomings can be listed. Merely rooting for a local source of food obviously narrows the range of food choice for local civilians. For instance, Europeans with a dominant preference for local products may limit themselves from sampling tropical refreshments such as durians, or so do Asians with apples and pears. Moreover, the economy may be badly damaged. Logistics resultantly loses one of its greatest portions making for its interest- food transport. The food industry may as well be affected. With no more motivation to modify products to attract foreign markets, the long-term quality of food may witness a downward trend.

In conclusion, whilst it shows some convenience and environmental benefits, serious damage, especially to the economy, emerges. This

suggestion may not be totally beneficial owing to the relative equality between the pros and cons.