Today people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary world, individuals are exposed to a wide range advertisements and they are attributed to influence people’s mindset and their lives negatively. From my viewpoint, I totally agree with this view as advertising activities bring more drawbacks, outweighing their benefits.

On the one hand, it is the case that advertising can affect people’s behaviours. To illustrate this point, companies often exaggerate the truth quality of products or share misleading information to boost sales and maximize their profits. As a result, it can affect shopping experience of consumers, leading them make non-informed choices. Moreover, excessive advertising also makes people purchase items over their needs. For example, celebrity endorsement has gained popularity in recent years, as it targets potential customer groups, especially young people. In other words, youngsters are not completely mature and captivated by the lavish lifestyles of personalities, who are greatly influential in online platforms. Consequently, it can lead to materialism and consumerism, posing a risk to run into debt and further affecting people’s lives.

On the other hand, there are some significant advantages of advertisements that should not be overlooked. One compelling reason why I support this view is that not all advertising campaigns are beneficial profits, especially those which intend to raise public awareness about pressing problems among society, such as environmental degradation and the detrimental effects on health of smoking. Therefore, advertisements act as a educational transport for residents, which contributes to a more sustainable and healthier living environment. Furthermore, marketing industry also creates chances for small-scale manufactures to increase their brand awareness, allowing them to access a wider range of customers.

In conclusion, while marketing activity bring some certain benefits, I strongly believe that its demerits outweigh, as it boosts the consumerism and materialism among young people. As a result, it is truly essential for people to aware of the right approach with a careful eye.