Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people’s purchasing habits have increased dramatically around the world. Many people, including myself, believe that this phenomenon is the result of ubiquitous advertisements and our throwaway behaviours.

To begin with, increased consumerism is mainly the result of advertisements. People are buying things not because of their actual needs, but owing to the constant presence of advertisements. To elaborate, advertisements appear in almost all parts of our lives, ranging from all media sources to billboards. As people are bombarded with all these ads, which show only bright sides of their products, many people often become tempted to buy more. Many advertisement companies often manipulate our purchasing habits by creating attractive ad campaigns. For example, these campaigns show some families enjoying their lives after buying a certain product, and this makes other people who are watching this ad also think that their lives will become better if they have that product.

Moreover, the idea that people make purchases because of the influence of advertisements can be evidenced with the fact that we live in a throwaway culture. In other words, we waste many things we buy. For example, clothes. Although I understand that clothes are necessary, we buy way more clothes than we need and throw away a lot of brand-new clothes just because we don’t need them anymore. If we bought them because we really needed them, we would be using those items not throwing away. This shows that a lot of our purchases are affected by advertisements.

In conclusion, advertisements play a significant role in our purchasing behaviours. One of the ways they affect our consumer habits is through their constant presence in our lives.