Vehicle technology is advancing rapidly and cars that drive themselves have already been developed. In the near future, most people will use driverless cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I disagree that in the near future that a larger percentage of people will use fully self-driving cars. Instead I believe that most people will use “driverless cars” much further in the future. This is because for a car to detect; pedestrians, obstructions and other vehicles, the car must require many sensors for different wave spectrums, with the main priority being the safety of the passenger. In order to achieve this, these cars require many bulky and expensive sensors, resulting in an expensive car to be mass manufactured, due to this, it will take a long time to cut costs for “most people” to purchase and use, further leading to a lower percentage of people having access to “driverless cars”.

Conversely, with the increasing production of electric cars via major automobile powerhouses such as Tesla, Mercedes Benz and Hyundai that incorporate a self-drive mode. This self-drive mode is slowly improved through the large budgets supplied from the automobile powerhouses. Portraying a chance that driverless cars may be produced in the near future.

It can be said that there is a slight chance that through the investment of major automobile companies into self-driving cars, could potentially develop safe and cost effective “self driving vehicles”. However, although there are increasing developments towards the production of driverless cars, all of them are mostly features which assist the driver, instead of eliminating the need of a driver, as self-driving still requires the attention of the driver. Lacking compact and effective sensors to prevent this I believe that it will take much longer than the “near future” for driverless cars to be mass produced to the people.