When choosing a job, the salary is the important thing to consider. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people choose their job paying attention to high salary more than other job perks. I agree with the idea that the salary is more important for a seeker than other social guarantees.

On the other hand, people believe that nowadays the criteria of salary is not enough for choosing a place of working. Having said that, I mean that the more companies provide social guarantees, the more chances that candidates will choose this kind of workplace because people care for their physical and mental health. For this reason, they have to take a lot of time to find a company that offers job perks such as equal pay for all the stuff depending on employees’ qualification, pension scheme that provides a good level of living after retiring, maternity and paternity leave which help young parents to nurse children. Besides, some employers propose bonus schemes to motivate their staff and mental programmes for new workers to make conditions to join a new team and adapt. As a result, between just a good salary and the same with social guarantees, they will choose the second option, since it creates more comfortable working conditions.

However, I agree that salary is the most important consideration for people because it is the main indicator used to evaluate work on the labor market. The first reason why I agree is that salary provides financial stability and predictability which helps people to plan their expenses for a certain period of time. In addition, the second reason is that any salary introduces the level of relationships between a company and any worker and his or her occupation. A good illustration of this is that the lower the employee’s salary, the less he is valued in this company as a specialist and the less stable the team environment is. As a result, people who find themselves in these conditions become less motivated and interested in work. Moreover, they do not stay in this company and start looking for more favorable conditions and a high salary.

In conclusion, although there are a lot of job perks such as maternity and paternity pay, tuition fees, pension scheme, healthcare insurance given by the companies, I strongly believe that the salary is the most important consideration because it helps us to participate in commodity and currency exchange and is the main indicator of working conditions.