When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a sparked controversy over whether the practice values of a building or its outer appearance should be prioritised regarding the designing process. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement as albeit there is no doubt that the real purpose of structures is of vital importance, we should not underestimate their outward appeal as well.

It is undeniable that the function plays a key role in the success of a construction. Quality of the function is the factor that decides whether people come around in a long-standing period. Due to the difference in the intended use that each building serves their designs and outward appeal should be suitable to the purpose. A typical instance of this is the shopping malls which are equipped with walls made of glasses. However, they are necessary to grip customers. Meanwhile, high-rise residential flats are eyesore, it is the only solution to provide housing in city centres.

Nevertheless, exterior appearance partly contributes to the value of each structure. Magnificent looking structures can be regarded as one of the chief reasons that fosters people in paying a visit to the buildings, especially in our modern era, when social media becomes an indispensable part in human’s life, arresting appearance would definitely make a good impression on people, as it satisfies a huge demand if check-in and sharing. Although it is not possible from time to time such as multi-storey car parks is an inevitable consequence of modern living, new or renovated houses, shops and offices are able to combine function and beauty.

In conclusion, due to aforementioned reasons, both practical values and outer appeal should be carefully taken into consideration when designing a construction to meet the highest standard.