You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society? You should write at least 250 words

In the contemporary societal landscape, many students are not opting for science subjects in universities and it has risen a new problem for the society. This essay will provide a comprehensive explanation on the reasons for this problem and will focus on effects on society.

Students entering in an university are rarely choosing science courses and there are numerous reasons for this issue. There are various options available in higher studies and many of them are easier and less sole-crushing, in contrary to science. This freedom of choice gives the students an opportunity to surf around, which has ultimately dropped the ratio of science learners. For instance, number of students graduating from universities comprises more of arts and commerce graduates as compared to science. Other factors effecting the proportion of science graduates is the length of the particular courses and the path of career growth being incredibly long. It takes around 10-12 years for the science students make a considerable career. A good example are doctors, it takes around 5 years of studying and then around 7-8 years of residency to be able to work independtly, whereas an arts or commerce graduate can complete their qualification in 3 years and start with their journey.

Therefore, there are some effects to society. Firstly, science sector is always low on manpower as there are not much qualified professionals available to fulfill the roles. This issue can be commonly seen in hospitals as they are always lack on doctors and nurses. Secondly, this shortage of science graduates fosters a decline in the economy as the science sector falls behind in comparison to other sectors. Furthermore, the innovation and invention rate of the nation also declines. Overall, it creates a drop in national GDP.

In conclusion, university learners attitude towards science courses needs alteration and it requires a constant effort from the society and the government. Science requires equal attention as other subjects.