You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other, while others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In today’s modern world, some people believe that humans are more needy of each other’s company. Meanwhile, others think that we are more comfortable spending time alone. This essay will discuss both perspectives, and I will provide my view, which agrees that people are getting less dependent on each other.

In the 21st century, the world is getting more competitive than ever before. In order to survive in this high-stress world, we have to work extremely harder compared to the past. This phenomenon causes people to be more demanding of moral support, resulting in an increase in interaction with their loved ones. However, this could be easily solved by seeking professional help like a counsellor or a life coach. In reality, people would rather discuss their issues with a professional than with their loved ones.

Since the beginning of COVID-19, working from home has been a popular culture around the world. In addition, many people still continue working from home even after pandemic has ended. Because of that, working adults do not have to step out of their homes to do their work, and the productivity rate has been proven to be equally high as working at offices. Furthermore, people can fully rely on technology to run their errands without involving others. A 2023 study which was done in the UK shows that 90% of the interviewees were comfortable living on their own. Moreover, they felt happier when they were alone.

In summary, the advanced technology and the after-effects of COVID-19 change our life preferences. More people are satisfied when they not in constant interaction with others. Additionally, it has shown that the productivity rate has been improving when individuals are less dependent on others.