You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other, while others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

There is an ongoing debate about whether individuals in modern society are becoming more independent of each other or is it the other way around. In this essay, I will explain both of these ideals and express why I tend to agree with the first.

On the one hand, the standard of education is higher now than ever before. Because of this, more people are educated and can think for themselves without depending on others. For example, young women no longer forced into having a family at a young age. They don’t need to depend on their husband to provide for the famlily while they take care of the children. Instead, they now have the freedom to lead an independent life and pursue their own career and happiness

On the other hand, it is undeniable that we are living in an technological advanced era, with everything can be accessed through our smartphones. With the rise of delivery apps like Uber, Grab, Grubhub, etc… we no longer have to cook food or travel somewhere by ourselves. Personally speaking, I have not been to a grocery store or a supermarket for nearly over a year now.