You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other, while others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In recent years, people opinion is divided in who believes that individuals are becoming less dependent and who believes the opposite. This eassay will argue both views, in particular, focusing on social media which are worsening our independence.

Firstly, altough people seem more independent while they are on social media, the reality is the contrary. In fact, scrolling photes on Instagram and Facebook, for example, is alienating, because it ketches user attention with videos captivating and repetitive. As a result, social media users are countinuatively distracted and bewildered, instead of being attent to what is happening around them. This leads to a loss of dependence, due to the fact that people around a social media user must take care of him. For instance, research has showed that half of the car accidents in the UK is caused by drivers distracted by social media.

In addition, social media are extrimely depressing, because they are mainly characterised by fake and photoshopped photoes that depict an unreal world. Consequentially, people are less dependent and self-aware of their attitude and shape, pursuing stereotyped ideas. Hence, this can reduce the independence of people affected by social media side effects, becoming less confident. For example, study in the USA has demonstrated that the number of suicide among young aged 11-15 years old has grown by 10%, since Facebook is online.

In conclusion, persons are becoming more dependent on each other due to the abuse of social media, which are distractive and depressing.