Computers and smart phones will be the death of handwriting, spelling and grammar. Do you agree?

With rising technology, it is considered that increased use of smartphones and computers will destroy the importance of grammar and spelling and reduce the habit of handwriting. I completely agree with the fact that these old habits will diminish with improvements in technology.

Firstly, computers and smartphones have a drastic effect on handwriting. With the prevailing use of technology, people, mostly younger generations, have reduced their writing on paper. This will lead to diminished writing by hand. Moreover, educational institutions like schools and universities are incorporating the use of computers to teach, due to which the notes or reading material is provided to the students through their phones. As a result, students do not inculcate penmanship. The exams or tests conducted by universities have mostly become online. Thus, the use of computers and phones will dominate over time.

Secondly, regarding spelling and grammar, the younger generations have adapted the usage of short forms of words on respective social media platforms. Youngsters use common wrong spellings to convey messages faster (for instance, using ‘r’ instead of ‘are’). The increased use of abbreviations (as a part of generational slang) also has an effect on spelling and grammar. Additionally, people rely on tools that can assist them, leading to less or no emphasis on learning a language’s grammar or spelling. Thus, individuals stop devoting their time to learning the grammatical rules, and as a result, less importance is given.

In conclusion, with the emerging improvements in technology, individuals will give less or no importance to old habits like handwriting and neglect spelling and grammar. As a result, it will hinder the practices that have been essential for a long time.