Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new resources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

The demand for gas and oil is increasing. Therefore, it is necessary to find new resources in remote and untouched places. In this essay, I will explain why the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

It is advantageous to explore new sources in remote and untouched areas because gas and oil are still in demand and necessary for peoples’ lives. These sources can be used in many ways that are essential for everyday life. For example, gas is used for heating and cooking, and oil is used as fuel for cars and in many other ways. However, if these sources were to run out, people would not be able to maintain their lives. That is why it is important to find alternative sources in untouched and remote areas, as there are limitations on the quantities of extraction of gas and oil. If new sources were found, gas and oil would be available to last longer for people to sustain their lives, and there would be some new job opportunities for locals to make a living. Clearly, it is beneficial to find alternative sources of gas and oil in remote and untouched areas.

However, there are high risks of losing ecosystems to find new sources in remote and untouched areas, and the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Untouched areas in Japan like the Shiretoko peninsula, have abundant ecosystems, and to maintain this balance, none of the inhabitants can be lacking, as they would face extinction, and the balance of the ecosystem is fragile. For example, if the Shiretoko forest and rivers were destroyed forsources of oil and gass, indigenous animals would lose their homes and disrupt their food cycles. Shiretoko brown bears, for example, rely on deer and fish for food, but if rivers and forests are contaminated by the development of plantations for new energy sources, they will lose their food sources, leading to the loss of food for other animals in the ecosystem. This would lead to the extinction of the brown bears.

In conclusion, looking at both views I believe that disadvantage outweighs advantage because it is hard to find a way to recover once an ecosystem has been destroyed.