Government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present era, certain individuals argue that not ecosystem preservation, but medical research should be funded to protect the population’s well-being. From my perspective, I partially agree with this standpoint. This essay will elucidate my argument that these two measures should be taken simultaneously.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that funding medical advancements facilitates a better healthcare system. For example, compared to earlier times, thanks to the invention of Covid-19 vaccines, people now can avoid getting down with this disease which used to result in a high fatality rate. Furthermore, experiment cost is rather high due to the requirement of chemical substances and suitable gadgets. Thus, only when scientists were invested to launch research to gain a comprehensive knowledge about illnesses, could practitioners adopt an adequate treatment regimen, further fostering the public’s health.

However, the financial budget spent on hindering environment contamination is crucial. To be more precise, a poor living habitat negatively impacts local residents’ well-being. For instance, according to numerous scientific studies, those living in regions where the air quality is low seem to face a higher threat from respiratory diseases, including tuberculosis, cough or lung cancer. Additionally, climate change also affects all living species, including humans as it leads to severe weather, potentially causing numerous diseases, such as frequent heart strokes, high blood pressure and allergies.

In conclusion, in my opinion, an adequate amount of money should be allocated for both investigating medical treatment and hindering environmental degradation, since these two elements directly affect human beings.