In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In recent years, some nations have reported a downturn in high streets on account of an augmentation in the number of large stores outside town centers. Consequently, car usage has risen in an attempt to satisfy the shopping needs of the locals. While I acknowledge the benefits of this increase for individuals, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, surges in the use of private vehicles are equivalent to more equitable access to shopping opportunities as well as economic growth. Due to the flexibility and speed that cars provide, consumers are able to commute to stores in the suburbs more swiftly and conveniently. Indeed, all residents should be able to purchase necessities and goods for their household. Therefore, the decline in town center shops, self-owned vehicles enable this right to happen. Moreover, it is undeniable that a proportion of profits from stores will be paid back to the government as tax, which means increased consumerism will benefit the nation financially.

On the flip side, the negative environmental impacts and traffic problems engendered by elevating car usage are apparent. To elaborate, most private modes of transport give off greenhouse emissions and utilize a significant quantity of energy. This means that the number of cars is in proportion to the severity of air pollution, thereby leading to respiratory issues among citizens. Moreover, the encouragement of car purchases by countryside outlets can give rise to the amount of traffic, which can further worsen the traffic jams conundrum in most urban areas. This has several devastating implications, including wasted time for commuting and exhaustion from the long wait.

All things considered, although the elevation in car usage brought about by out-of-town stores possesses both merits and demerits, the latter outweighs the former in terms of environmental and traffic considerations. Hence, consumers, whenever tempted to travel by car to faraway shopping destinations, should take account of the problems they might contribute to.