In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pays for them. Do you think the advantages that the government pays the money outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that there are some differences in how tuition fees are paid globally. While students in some countries have their fees paid by the government, students in others need to pay on their own. This trend would introduce both merits and demerits; however, I believe that the drawbacks are eclipsed by the benefits.

On the one hand, if the government continues to bear the tuition, there will be much pressure on the national budget, which can be used to address other urgent issues. To be more specific, that sum of spending can be used in studying renewable energy resources, which act as alternatives for fossil fuels in plants and factories. This is of critical importance because global warming and climate change are getting worse and worse, and many regions in the world have already suffered from devastating catastrophic events like severe flooding and extreme heat waves.

On the other hand, I argue that the advantages of this solution would prove to be worthwhile. If authorities pay for their residents’ tuition fees, it will provide every one, especially those coming from less well-off backgrounds, an opportunity to have proper education. Since the burden of paying tuition fees is alleviated to some extent, parents or guardians from underprivileged families can save more money, which can be useful in case the family would like to open a small store or in case of emergency. Furthermore, education is a foundation on which many genius ideas are born. To be more specific, if more and more people can go to school, it will result in a more skilled and educated workforce, with many talented people who are not only energetic but also hold potential to contribute ideas for solving urgent problems related to the climate, ecosystem, and even poverty. These advantages not only benefit individuals who receive the tuition fees subsidies but also the whole country in general.

In conclusion, despite the budget deficit that this trend may cause, the plus points of the government being responsible for paying the tuition are much more considerable since it will bridge the societal gap between the rich and the poor as well as having a more comprehensive approach to solving other matters.