Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Many countries oblige young men to serve in the military for a period of time; and some people suggest that such ‘national service’ should be extended to all countries and possibly for both genders. I would argue that although military service is beneficial to some it may not be suitable for everybody- and so should not be obligatory. However, I see no reason why anyone who wishes to serve should be prevented from doing so, regardless of whether man or woman.

The argument most often advanced in favour of universal military service is that it increases the skill set of young people, who are forced to face challenges and see the benefits of discipline and training. Some people even go further in favour, and argue that obligatory military service would help to tackle the youth disorder which is a growing problem in many Western countries. They also say that if young people were to serve some time in the military in different parts of the country to their home town, and with others who are also from different regions, then this camaraderie would add to a sense of national unity and cohesion, and prove beneficial to society as a whole.

On the other hand, critics argue that these ‘benefits’ are illusory. They say there is no real advantage in merely wasting time which could be more usefully spent otherwise, that it leads to the militarization of youth, and that not all countries need a large and expensive military presence anyway. Finally, they question how appropriate it would be to force otherwise peaceful people into the military.

There are alternatives to military service, though they are less common internationally. Instead young people could take part in community service programmes after leaving school. This would still help to develop various skills in the same manner as military service does, while making the young people involved feel that they have an investment in their country and in improving the community in which they live. I would argue that this kind of service would be far more suitable for both men and women, as well as beneficial to society at large.

To conclude, while military service does have clear benefits there are also some negative aspects related to how ethical it is to force people to serve in the armed forces. For this reason, I would argue that there are other ways of developing young people’s skills.