Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

Nowaday, people hold differing views about should increasing the production of goods and materials be the main goal to all countries. While this can help the economy grow, I argue that constantly producing more and more is not a good long-term goal as it may cause detrimental effects on both the environment and society.

On the one hand, the mass goods’productions may bring about some benefits. One of the most notable reason is that producing more goods may help countries, especially developing ones, to grow their economies. To be more specific, it helps to create jobs, increases incomes for citizens, and improves their quality of life. For instance, some developing countries like Viet Nam and India have seen their economic growth by doing this, which helps a large number of inhabitants move out of poverty. In addition, this can also lead to more opportunities for exports, which can further strengthen a country’s economy.

However, there are some downsides if a country choose to constantly increase production. One major problem is that it might damages the environment. Specifically, overproduction can easily cause deforestation or pollution. As an example, the fashion industry’s now pays more attention on making fast fashion to meet the demand of customers. As a result, this phenomenon causes a lot of waste to the environment, with tons of clothes ending up in landfills, causing air pollution and waste. Moreover, focusing only on production often increases the gap between rich and poor. Big businesses benefit the most from this, while employees and small companies may not see much improvement, which can lead to inequality in our society.

To sum up, although mass producing can somtimes help the economy grow in the short term, I belive this is not a good goal for the long run since it creates environmental issues and worsens the inequality. Authorities of countries should aim for balanced growth that benefits people of their countries and protects our planet.