Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their hometown. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In fact, the ways of learning foreign languages have always been one of the most debatable issues. Some individuals believe that visiting foreign countries in order to acquire a new language is more beneficial in terms of motivation than learning it by attending classes in their home town which involves a hard work. In the following paragraphs both ideas about acquiring knowledge will be discussed.

It is obvious that people always seek for efficient methods in learning languages. It is not uncommon to meet some individuals who prove the idea that the best way of acquiring a new language is absolutely visiting that country. Living in the city where you are learning a language gives you the opportunity to learn it more naturally, with deep motivation. It is known that language learning requires more listening and speaking skills. If students live in foreign countries, they can acquire these language skills without any difficulty.

For example, most children who grow up abroad can speak foreign languages as well as their native one. Visiting the country to learn language is much more convenient than studying it in their home town.

Although visiting the country to learn a language is more convenient and easer, this is not to say it is the wrong way to acquire a language in language schools by living in their hometown. Language schools help students acquire and improve their knowledge of foreign languages. Nowadays teachers can use various methods by taking into consideration individual’s ability to learn a language. For example the students who got 9 in IELTS exam are learned the English language in the language schools, not lived in foreign countries. Studying the language in hometown is affordable and more efficient than studying abroad.

To sum up, students can find learning language in foreign countries more convenient and easer in favor of acquiring language in a natural way, Nevertheless, studying language in hometown can provide students with a strong knowledge.