Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While youngsters spend their time playing video games and watching tv, some individuals believe that such activities are hazardous when it comes to kids’ mental stability. These practices foster a sense of isolation in young people due to their addictive qualities. Moreover, given the fact that imitation is in children’s nature, it makes mirroring dangerous practices possible. Given all the previously mentioned reasons, this essay totally believes that video games and tv negatively affect children’s mental condition.

The fleeting sense of achievement brought by never-ending video games like PBGE and happy-ending movies brings about the alarming signs of addiction. Youngsters escape any ounce of discomfort they feel by restoring to games and shows. As a result, they drift away from any social interaction and corner themselves in front of the screen. This gradual and constant withdrawal from society leads to severe psychological problems that leads to rejection and isolation. Japan, for instance, has been facing this issue for years as, once-young people, now adults continued to draw themselves away from society and now japan lost much of its labour force as they refuse to rejoin the society and they are still willingly shackled to their screens.

According to early years education experts, children learn by imitating what they perceive which make screen time more dangerous and cannot be overlooked. Children are curious creatures who thrive on experiment and trying things for themselves. Bearing in mind that constant monitoring by parents is difficult, and sometimes, non-existent, accidents resulted by curiosity are bound to happen. Exposure to inappropriate content leads to unwanted actions or behavioural issues. 6 years ago in Egypt, for example, an 8-year old killed a 5-year old while trying to imitate a scene from a movie that ended in an unforgettable heartbreaking tragedy.

Nobody wants children to deviate from society nor adapt any appalling behaviour, but an action must be taken to prevent these results. Parents and educators ought to direct young learners away from screens by providing them with alternatives tailored for their interests and needs.