Nowadays, technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing. In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has recently become a tool for monitoring people, and victims of tracking are unaware of being surveilled. Although the safety of people is a benefit, I believe a lack of morality in such actions is a major problem that outweighs the merit.

The primary advantage of this constant surveillance is that people are relatively safe. When the authorities monitor people daily, they might be ready when an emergency occurs. If this is the case, they may send help to ensure that the person in danger is rescued, covering this as a call from a concerned neighbor. For example, an individual may be attacked or robbed when at home, and the government that sees the situation could provide help by sending the police. Despite this, I think the absence of human morality in this monitoring is an issue that is not bearable.

One main drawback of this trend is that it is not humanly acceptable. Given the unawareness of monitored people, it seems naïve to reckon that they would not mind being tracked and watched. A person might value their privacy more than everything else, which should be understood because it sounds inhumane to watch them without their permission. If not prevented, it may violate their boundaries, which should be protected by the government, not disrupted. Take Uzbekistan as an example. The country has been criticised by many due to monitoring people without any permission, which was considered a violation of human rights. Thus, I take the view that monitoring what people say and do is totally inhumane and should be avoided.

In conclusion, I think the problem of monitoring people without their awareness is that it is morally unacceptable, and this overshadows the merit of the authorities’ readiness for extreme cases.