•Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied that the increase in university fees and the shortage of post-study work prospects for students result in the exclusion of arts subjects like philosophy and history from universities’ academic programs, and the emphasis on practical degree courses. It seems to me that it is not a good idea to remove the art department completely from colleges

On the one hand, most students enroll in arts because they are passionate about it. This is the department where graduates learn much more effectively. As a result, they will have successful careers in the future. In addition, subjects like arts and history are our identity, as they have been carried out to preserve them. If our identity is lost, then we are lost too. As a matter of fact, this should be preserved from getting extinct. And, including them in a university course definitely helps to save our identity for future

On the other hand, vocational courses that focus on practical knowledge have good job prospects as they have a wide scope. This is why the graduates are able to finance themselves and stabilize their economic condition shortly after graduation. Meanwhile, they can also support their families. Similarly, technical manpower is also needed by the government for the development of various infrastructure and to make the nation competitive in the global market. Thus, colleges should focus their courses on what the country demands and what is good for the nation

In conclusion, although technical courses have good career prospects, it is completely wrong to exclude the arts subjects from their programs, owing to the fact that they are our identity.