Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some educational authorities put forward that schools should learn students to play a musical instrument as long as playing music holds many appeals among children. I definitely agree with this view on the condition that other fundamental skills do not be overlooked.

As it is clear students are expected to improve and learn many basic skills during schooling years before arriving at the society. This means that numeric and literacy skills play the main roles in every education system. In terms of training, students should be aware of social and communicational skills to get along well with other members of society. In some remote areas, For example, in developing countries such as Afghanistan, still some female children are deprived from learning these abilities. Therefore, these skills should be taken into account, as well.

On the other hand, learning music would serve a vital role in the students’ developmental stages. It is true that playing a musical instrument would improve mathematics because both music and math have identical sequences and patterns. Studies in the U.S, for instance, represented that students playing a musical instrument got higher scores on SAT. In addition, learning music can improve students’ peculiarities. When children can play a special kind of music, they feel proud of themselves and result in their self-confidence improvement. Consequently, students can gain more by playing a musical instrument.

To sum up, as mentioned, this approach ends up many positive repercussions on students. It seems to me that learning this skill beside other substantial skills can be beneficial for children.