Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the holidays, it is oftenly issued that some employers have a high demand to contact their staff at all times. This essay agrees towards the fact that the more approachable the staff at the holidays will bring more advantage than disadvantages. Firstly, the essay will discuss the benefit when employers are able to contact their staff on the holidays. Secondly. I will discuss the potential harm and how to overcome it.

Contactable staff is crucial for the quality of a company. When employers can contact their staff at all times, it will surely leverage the effectiveness and efficiency within the workplace. An example is when the holidays, there could be a potential emergency of tasks that the employer need to inform the workers, however if the staff cannot be approach it would be more difficult as it will slow quality of the job. Aside from that high level communication will bring many advantage of the company and it will make the company more powerful.

On the other side, forcing staff to always be ready whenever and wherever could bring inconvenience within the group of staff. We can all agree that outside of working time, workers need leisure time as well as it will bring satisfaction among them. However all of this can be dispatch by making an agreement at the start. An example of this is in the first time of employment, the employer should explain how the company could sometime need staff to be able work at the holidays, therefore they will be ready when the time comes