Some people believe that schools should only teach children's subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Music, art, and sports are an instrumental part of people’s lives and society. It is contended that non-academic lessons must be removed in order to assist students to concentrate on major academic subjects, such as math, biology, physics, etc. I believe that cultural disciplines take students’ time, for those who do not have an aptitude related to art and sports, and divert attention from core subjects, while they reveal the real potential of gifted learners and help to foster well-rounded individuals.

Prioritizing non-core subjects allows students to unleash their imagination and creativity. Learners who are able to play instruments perfectly or draw excellent pictures see their talents in these lessons. Only through school lessons can educationists notice their talent and give impetus to their career path, because parents think that being a doctor or engineer is far greater than being an artist or athlete, so they do not investigate their child’s skills in art. There are some students becoming popular and wealthy thanks to compulsory lessons and events about art. In addition, school aids people to understand their interests and stance. After that, they choose their faculty before enrolling in the university, thereby preventing the incorporation of cultural disciplines in school curricula, which negatively affects some students whose taste is about music or culture.

Notwithstanding these benefits of artistic subjects, there are several drawbacks to them. Learners cannot focus on core subjects because of non-core subjects, and they take students’ time for nothing for those who are not gifted in art or music. There is undeniable pressure on the students, and cultural disciplines exacerbate this situation. Were education centers to remove the mandatory aspect of these subjects, they would ameliorate this pressure.

To conclude, I think that cultural disciplines constrain students’ time, for those who do not have skills related to art and sports, while they unveil the real potential of gifted learners and help to foster versatile people.