Some people say that parents need to spend time on reading or telling stories to children, while others think parents no longer have to do this because there are other sources for stories such as books, TV and the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many of those bear the belief that it is unnecessary for modern parents to allocate time to read tales to their children due to the availability of alternative reading sources namely books, televisions and the internet. I am of the opinion that this practice should be prolonged, as it benefits the children’s linguistic development, plus, it strengthens the bonds within family members.

Admittedly, it is observable that children can easily access a wide range of contents without parents’ involvement. For instance, there are a variety of children’s books that contain age-appropriate stories with eye-catching illustrations which can maintain those young readers’ interest. Additionally, TV programs offers intriguing stories with animated characters, along with well-blended sounds, which can enhance children’s understanding, thanks to the visual and audio aid. Notably, a large number of Youtube channels generate storytelling videos such at My Story Animated, allowing children to enjoy their favorite story in a fun and immersive way.

However, the ubiquity of these conveniences does not hinder the need for parents to tell stories to their young ones. The key reason is that young children are bound to encounter linguistic problems such as unfamiliar syntax, and the use of advanced vocabulary and/or grammar, when they read or watch stories on their own. This can affect their understanding and ultimately their language and cognitive development. These problems can be easily resolved if parents are involved in storytelling because they can offer explanations and rephrase difficult concepts in simpler language. Furthermore, parents who have a habit of telling stories to their children often have more intimate relationships with them, fostering a more harmonious family environment. In fact, parents who often read bed-time stories to their infants tend to have an easier time dealing with their teenage years later due to the close-knit relationships established early on.

In conclusion, although children’s stories are readily available and easily accessible on other platforms, parents should still spare time to read stories to their children to better facilitate their development and build tight-knit relationships with them.