Some people think it is important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money on maintaining old ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, the number of old buildings is increasing. Therefore, people think that in this situation, conservation is more preferable than renovation. Personally, I can partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, old buildings represent the cultural heritage and history of each country. Those constructions, which have been demolished and built again, will not be so valuable anymore. Moreover, historical architectural monuments, for example, castles or temples, are attractive to tourists from all over the world. That is why in order to provide a significant share of income in the tourism sphere and increase the awareness of various cultures, it is important to preserve such buildings.

On the other hand, certain constructions in a poor state are very dangerous for people’s visits. It is more reasonable to avoid unnecessary traumas and reconstruct or knock down unreliable buildings. In addition, those constructions are not suitiable to be used as modern offices or accommodation and only occupy the territory. If a building is needless for citizens, then it only spoils the appearance of the city and represent a threat to residents. In this case, it can be demolished and the empty area used for more suitable development. For example, a small square with trees or a school could be built. However, it is possible to renovate this building and turn it into an office block.

In conclusion, if we consider historically valuable monuments, they should be preserved, but only if their physical condition allows it. However, it is better to demolish or renovate ordinary old constructions for more profitable use.