Some people think too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds.Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether an excessive amount of attention and resources are provided to the preservation of wild animals and birds. Although there is certain merits of this opinion, I still believe that what we have been doing is far from enough, and the benefits of those efforts can justify the cost.

On the one hand, it seems to many that too much money are allocated to wildlife preservation programmes. It it a common sight that a host of billboards advocating the protection of endangered species are at every corner of the street throughout the world, undoubtedly requiring a huge sum of money to run and maintain these advertisements. Moreover, celebrities including royal members are often strong proponents of environmental and animal preservation, spending millions of dollars campaigning and promoting their agendas. These funds, as some might say, should be allocated to more urgent fields, such as education and medical care, as doing so could have a direct impact on human lives.

On the other hand, I strongly believe the merits stemming from the efforts to protect these species justify the financial backing and attention they have received. One of the factors is that despite the fundings invested in conservation initiatives, a host of endangered species is dying out at an alarming rate, highlighting the defficient efforts to maintain the survival of the local faunas. Furthermore, each species holds a particular role in the global ecosystem in which we live, which means protecting these species will bring benefits for humans. For instance, bees and birds are vital participants in the pollination and pest control processes, which are necessary to main crop yields and sustain the flobal food security.

In conclusion, athought it is argued that too many efforts and resources have been allocated to the protection of wilflife, I still believe it is far from enough, as such practice is something we do for our own survival.