Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A multitude of individuals holds the notion that conflicts between teenagers and their parents are of necessity while teenage children are reaching adulthood, whereas others posit it as an adverse trend that should be averted. Both viewpoints present valid justifications, but I lean towards the former view.

There are those who subscribe to the view that parent-teenager conflicts should be steered clear, as it takes a heavy toll on family bonds. To them, with constant arguments between parents and their teenage children, family relationships can be ruined, negatively affecting youngsters’ mental wellbeing. This can be seen in many Vietnamese families, where parent-child arguments have resulted in a host of children’ mental health, such as significant stress, depression, or even thoughtful suicide in worse-case scenarios. Instead, parents prevent such conflicts through providing valuable advice, setting good examples, or giving words of encouragement. Were it for conflicts between the youth and parents, family bonds would maintain. This highlights the fact that parents and children should shy away from conflicts to retain healthy family environment, enhancing children’s mental health.

Conversely, I am convinced that these conflicts are of necessity, particularly during children’s formative years. By running into arguments, teenagers can cultivate critical thinking, logical, and problem-solving skills, fostering mutual respect and understanding. For instance, conflicts often arise when it comes to the use of technological devices. According to parents, children’s prolonged expose to such gadgets like smartphones, ipads, or laptops are detrimental. Therefore, they tend to restrict or ban their offspring from using these devices. However, through persuasive arguments, children can logically explain that they make use of these technologies for educational purposes, achieving better academic results. Without such explanations, parents may without a doubt believe that teenagers might spend excessively time on gaming, binge-watching, or even browsing social media feeds. This can serve as a testament to the necessity of parent-child conflicts so as for children to prove themselves right.

In conclusion, although some view conflicts as deleterious effects on family bonds, I still maintain that parent-teenager arguments hold merits for children, as they help adolescents to hone their logical, critical thinking, and problem-solving capabilities.