The government should be responsible for providing retirees with financial support and care. While many people think that citizens should save money to take care of themselves when they are old. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the present day, there is a major issue of who should care for the pensioners that comprise a substantial part of the population. Some people advocate for the government to provide financial support, while others think that citizens should save money themselves, and I think both sides are correct as it should be a combination of both.

First and foremost, people worked hard and paid taxes to the government before they retired, so it would only be fair if the government took care of them now. Furthermore, a lot of jobs do not provide a high salary that would allow people to cover the living cost and have enough money left to save for their older age. Therefore, a system that pays every pensioner equally would ensure that every elderly person can pay the cost of living.

However, there is an issue that we cannot ignore. In every developed country the population ages, as there are fewer people born each year and the life expectancy is very high. This means that there are a lot of retirees and not enough workforce. It follows that either the government splits the payment between the elderly so much it is not enough to cover the living wage or each working adult will have to shoulder more people, paying such high taxes that there is nothing left for them.

As a result, it is clear that the government is not able to fully pay for the elderly and most people are not paid enough to save money for when they retire, so only a combination of both can ensure the wellbeing of retirees.