The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum.

A rise in the number of obesity and overweight citizens leads to an increase in demand for medical services and since then pressure has been building up for the health care system. In order to address the issue, there are opinions suggested that health and physical education should be taught in schools to raise the awareness of maintaining good health. In my opinion, education can the public to understand weight problem can cause serious health issues but it might not be an effective method to solve the current problem facing by the health care system.

School education is one of the most useful ways to promote the importance of staying healthy. Student will not only be able to obtain accurate health information but will also be encouraged to stay physically active by participating in sports activities at schools. They will be able to judge what type of food and drinks are beneficial and harmful to them. With adequate guidance, positive impacts and changes will be resulted. They are less likely to get sick and logically the needs for medical support can be lower.

Nevertheless, the result can only be seen in the long term. It is unreasonable to expect instant change can be achieved through health education at school in the short term. When the pressure has already been piling up in the medical system. Extra financial and resources support on medical staff and medication from large institutions, in this case, government funding will likely be most effective and timely even though such approach will shoot up the financial burden of the government.

To conclude, I believe education is a constructive suggestion when it comes to health promotion and to assist people to adopt healthy lifestyle. However, we cannot rely solely on this one single approach to tackle the problem. In the short run, it is inevitable to devote significant amount of financial and resources to resolve the problem.