Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people admit that the significant sales of famous consumer stuff indicate the capacity of advertising and not the real demand of the public. This statement appeared due to several reasons such as emotional attraction, the influence through well-known people, and the overconsumption habits in society. This essay will discuss deeper regarding this issue and writer’s opinion.

To start with, advertisements have a substantial effect in society, especially in the way of influencing consumer decision making. The values and emotional appeal that the brand built through advertisement encourages people to make impulsive decisions and act without consideration because they are afraid to be left behind by the trend. The emotional concept of advertisement provides the connection through public background and personal story. This situation guides the increase of brand loyalty and affects the sales.

Furthermore, the image that brands build through famous and notable people improve the credibility and gain the public’s trust. Most people are more confident when obtaining something that has been promoted and supported by famous people. People assume the goods endorsed by celebrities or trusted people are of great quality and trustworthy. For example, people are intrigued to purchase something because their role model recommends it to the public. This also can impact the sales performance in general.

Moreover, the impulsive practice that is widespread in society nowadays has a prominent impact on the number of sales. People purchase something without considering the advantages of stuff that they obtain. The majority only care for their desire without thinking about the impact or benefit of the stuff. This habit generates consumptive practice in society and also affects commercial sales of some stuff, especially the one that is a trend.