Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Free health services are being offered in almost all developed countries of the world. With regard to developing countries, they must also provide these services. However, it is not necessary to ensure the latest medical plans as they are unaffordable. In my opinion, the provision of such facilities can enhance the lifestyle of the common people.

Once upon a time, my friend, who just turned 50 and lives in England, had a major heart attack. He was immediately directed to a hospital emergency room, and within a few hours, his angiography was done followed by angioplasty. He was provided with the best medical services, and his life was saved. He had moved there six months ago on a job visa therefore he could not afford his treatment himself. Indeed, after God, it was the British health care system that saved his life.

On the other hand, one of my relatives in a village went through the same heart problem but could not survive. The health care facilities in that village did not even provide him with emergency services. They did not have equipment for an ECG in the local hospital. I would say, if the government cannot provide a full treatment plan in those villages, at least there must be some major services to facilitate the general public. Hospitals should be built all over the country for free treatment, though not highly equipped. They cannot be standardized like high-class hospitals, but they will definitely save the lives of many people.

Hence, it is necessary for the government of all countries to provide their people with basic medical facilities and on-the-spot treatment of cardiovascular diseases and other life-threatening conditions.