Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many supermarkets import products from other countries instead of selling locally sourced food. In my opinion, there is a positive impact in terms of food variety; however, there is a negative impact on the demand for local products.

A benefit of selling products from other regions is the variety of food available. People have more and more food products to choose from every day from other countries, even if we don’t visit those countries. This prevents us from getting bored with what we consume. For example, if we are bored with traditional Indonesian food, we can go to supermarkets and buy food from Korea, such as kimchi and ramyeon, or from Japan, such as sushi. So we have a variety of food preferences every day.

On the other hand, buying food from other countries can decrease the demand for local products, which affects the local economy. Local products may be reduced or disappear from supermarkets. For instance, nowadays kimchi or sushi is more often chosen by people, while traditional food is less preferred or even never eaten. In conclusion, many supermarkets import products from other countries instead of selling locally sourced food. There is a positive impact in terms of food variety; however, there is a negative impact due to the decreased demand for local products.