Research shows that increasing numbers of people are now living in mega-cities: cities of more than 20 million inhabitants.

In several parts of the world, an excessive number of individuals are now residing in large urban areas, where over 20 million inhabitants are already living. This essay will highlight both the positive and negative sides of this trend and demonstrate why the opponents of this scenario are correct.

On the one hand, having a dense population in large areas benefits cities’ development by fostering economic growth and facilitating the installation of new infrastructure. Metropolises with larger populations often experience a fiercely competitive job market, enabling companies to easily recruit high-skilled employees. These individuals play a crucial role in enhancing the city’s economic prospects through their innovative contributions, which in turn strengthen the financial stability of unions and other organizations. In addition, high population density in cities forces officials to allocate more funds to rebuild an entire infrastructure system. For example, since the number of citizens exploded in some cities in the US, its government has spent a substantial amount of money to reconstruct and maintain this network.

On the other hand, the increasing number of individuals in major urban centers is likely to decrease the average health rate there. This may occur because of damage to the environment and overeating unhealthy food products. A higher population in cities leads to more environmental pollution problems. These issues are usually considered the main contributors to enhancing the risk of many diseases, such as asthma and heart attacks. Moreover, growing demand for basic needs such as nutritious food, accommodation, and transport increases the costs of these products, forcing individuals to consume more junk food products instead of healthy ones to save more money and cover other needs. An illustration of this decline in the overall health rate is visible in Tokyo, where the level of pollution and the costs of healthy meals are very high.

In conclusion, although a dense population in large cities is beneficial for economic development and infrastructure improvement, I believe it is a negative development due to the associated health risks.