Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a prevailing notion that young people should be taught using the literature of their own countries rather than the text from other nations. To a certain extent, I agree that it may be true in the case of some societies. However, I also believe that others seem to be unaffected by this statement.

On the one hand, the opinion that children could develop good behavior from being taught the literature of their home country is attractive for several reasons. Initially, literary works tell stories that illustrate correct etiquettes and manners in society. This means that children can learn those things and have good attitudes towards individuals around them. In contrast, when children study foreign literature, they can advance numerous behaviors that are not suitable for their national culture. Therefore, that hinders them from integrating into society. For instance, the literary text from other countries emphasize the crucial of individualism, while young people in Viet Nam are taught about sharing and solidarity. If they apply it, they will be considered selfish and excluded from society. In addition, studying our country’s literature also helps adolescents understand more about history and the sacrifice of their ancestors. The younger generation can learn and be proud of their heritage, they can read literary works from the wartime or from the years of building the country. Ultimately, children have gratitude and respect for their ancestors.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why the young students should also be taught about foreign works of literature. Firstly, reading the authors of other countries exposes students to a variety of different cultures. This is because, in this fast paced world where multiculturalism is spreading faster, it is necessary that schools can teach children by using books from all over the world. Consequently, young age children are exposed to the nuances of diverse learning and they will learn to respect others more. Moreover, studying foreign literature can help children have a new perspective on the world. For example, when studying a particular subject, of course, writers from the same country will have a common view according to the tradition of that country, while studying literature from other countries will bring a different, more multi-dimensional perspective to students. As a result, young people may have an open mind about all issues in life.

In conclusion, while there are some benefits to learning a foreign world , I am of the opinion that learning local literature gains more advantages than learning it.