Some people think that using animals for experimentation purpose is cruel, but others believe that it is necessary for the development of science. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For nearly a century, drug and chemical safety assessments have been based on laboratory testing involving rodents, rabbits, dogs, and other animals. Aside from the favorable purposes of research into biology and medicine, these studies pose an ethical dilemma. While some people question the necessity of causing harm to sentient species, others view it as a required contribution toscientific development. Both sides of this argument will be analyzed before a reasonable conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, the majority of research projects inflict physical pain, psychological distress, and suffering on animals,which is ruthless and cruel. For example, poor animals can be deprived of food and water, inflicted with burns, wounds, and pain. Moreover, they can be injected with lethal doses of certain chemicals to determine how much can kill them. Therefore, these animals are simply exploited and mistreated during the manifestation of violence. That is why, according to the opinion of animal activists and many regular people, it isdevastating to imagine what those animals are forced to endure.

However, on the other side of this heated debate, it must be remembered that an enormous amount of medical breakthroughs in the past 100 years have resulted from animal experiments. For instance, thanks to animal research, we have had significant advances in the treatment of diseases. Evidently, animal research not only helps discover new forms of treatment, but it also protects human beings from unsafe medical products. Therefore, it is easy to see that these experiments are beneficial for people.

All things considered, the fundamental contribution of animal testing to society cannot be underestimated. Nevertheless, in our rapidly evolving world of modern technology, this cruel and inhumane method of research could be easily replaced with modern alternatives. Personally, I am convinced that experimenting on live animals seems primitive compared to the potential of cellular and molecular science and nanotechnology. Apparently, we need to turn the page in the history book and embrace the new chapter of 21st-century science.